h1

enough

July 3, 2008

yeah, yeah.  it’s been a while.  do you think i didn’t realize?  i’ve actually been quite busy.  thank you very much.  if you thought planning an akawedding was hard, try running for public office.

yes.  you heard me right.  i’m running for public office.  it’s a tiny, unpaid office.  but it’s public and i actually have to convince people to vote for me.

so, yeah.  i’ve been busy.  and totally overwhelmed.  although i’m super excited about the prospect of winning i am an impossibly lazy fuck who sees all of the work ahead of me and thinks, “why did i agree to do this?”  the fact that i will be out of the country on my honeymoon for the three weeks before the election doesn’t bode well for my chances of actually being elected.   

my other problem is one of self-confidence.  the worry that i will “fail” in one way or another weighs heavily on my mind.  will the copy on my website and campaign literature convey my message enough?  can i answer potential voters’ questions clearly enough?  do my stump speeches come off as intelligent and natural enough?  am “i” enough?

of course i hope so.  and it will take every ounce of me to make it so.

wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

