h1

Friday Fruits and Veggies

September 7, 2007

My Boyfriend, Mr. D, and I belong to an organic co-op. We pay about $50 a month for a weekly basket of organic produce. It typically breaks down to 1/3 leafy greens (chard, romaine, spinach), 1/3 veggies (onions, potatoes, squash) and 1/3 fruit (pears, apples, oranges). The co-op organizer updates the “what’s in this week’s basket” section of the co-op’s website on Thursdays. I pick up the basket-o-goodness on Fridays.

I want to start blogging about my intentions for the week as they relate to what I receive – what’s in this weeks basket, what am I really excited about, what’s Mr. D excited about, what will rot before we touch it, what recipes am I going to try, etc.

I also want to start blogging about food in general.  Hopefully, my Friday Fruits and Veggies posts will include a discussion of something on my mind related to food.

I’m flying by the seat of my pants here since I just came up with the idea about five seconds ago. I draw my inspiration from Daily Kos diarist orangeclouds115’s Vegetables of Mass Destruction series.

I guess I’ll start by saying that I have issues with the fact that 99.9% of the produce I receive each week is from industrial organic farms; it’s mono-cropped on huge swaths of land all over the world, picked by underpaid farm workers, and then flown and/or trucked thousands of miles to some refrigeration warehouse and on and on. It requires huge expenditures of resources. It’s not local or “sustainable” and therefore it’s an ethical and moral compromise on my part. I’ll write more about the compromise later, but in the meantime, check out The Omnivore’s Dilemma.

So, what’s in my basket this week? Drum Roll Please…

Rainbow Chard

Portabella Mushrooms

Jumbo Carrots

Broccoli Crowns

Acorn Squash

Red Plums

Bartlett Pears

I’ll need to pick up a few additional things at the grocery, but should be able to make a main dish for about three meals, with leftovers, from this basket. I’m most excited about making a plum sauce for chicken. I also found a great recipe for red onion and almond stuffed squash and can’t wait to try stuffing the chard leaves to make quasi-dolma.  The broccoli will go in salads and maybe as a side to the plum chicken.  Mr. D and I will eat the pears (happily as i’m off the refined sugar once again) and maybe juice the carrots depending on their taste.  The biggest challenge will be the mushrooms.  I am not a huge fan but Mr. D is so I’ve encouraged him to find a good recipe for us to try.  I’ll let you know how everything turns out!

2 comments

  1. I think you need to ad my juice to your menu. See my blog


  2. […] September 11th, 2007 I talked about attempting a Plum Glazed Chicken recipe in my Friday Fruits and Veggies post. I made it tonight and it was deelish, if I do say so myself. The sauce, tart from the plums […]



Leave a Reply

